Where global solutions are shaped for you | Disarmament | Regional Groups in the Biological Weapons Convention

ACCESSIBILITY AT UNOG A A A A The United Nations in the Heart of Europe

Regional Groups in the Biological Weapons Convention

Similar to many other international instruments and organizations, the States Parties to the Biological Weapons Convention have organized themselves into three groups to facilitate their preparations and discussions. The groups include the Eastern European Group (EG), the Group of the Non-Aligned Movement and Other States (NAM), and the Western Group (WG).

The membership of these groups differs from those found in other forums, despite the similar names. For example, the Western Group of the BWC has a different membership from the Western European and Others Group (WEOG) of the General Assembly, and the group of NAM and Other States in the BWC includes China, which is not a member of the Non-Aligned Movement or similar groups in other forums.

Each group has a coordinator who speaks on behalf of the group and is responsible for organising and chairing the meetings of that group. The current coordinators and members of each group are listed below:

Eastern European Group (EG)

Coordinator: Latvia

Hide details for MembershipMembership
  1. Albania
  2. Armenia
  3. Azerbaijan
  4. Belarus
  5. Bosnia-Herzegovina
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Croatia
  8. Czech Republic
  9. Estonia
  10. Georgia
  11. Hungary
  12. Kazakhstan
  13. Kyrgyzstan
  14. Latvia
  15. Lithuania
  16. Montenegro
  17. Poland
  18. Republic of Moldova
  19. Romania
  20. Russian Federation
  21. Serbia
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Tajikistan
  25. The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  26. Turkmenistan
  27. Ukraine
  28. Uzbekistan

Group of the Non-Aligned Movement and Other States (NAM)

Coordinator: Venezuela

Show details for MembershipMembership

Western Group (WG)

Coordinator: Australia

Show details for MembershipMembership