ACCESSIBILITY AT UNOG A A A A The United Nations in the Heart of Europe


22 February 2013

The Human Rights Council Advisory Committee today concluded its tenth session after adopting two action points addressed to the Human Rights Council on human rights and issues related to hostage-taking and on new mandates.  The Committee also adopted ad referendum the report of its tenth session to the Human Rights Council before concluding the session.

Regarding new mandates, the Committee adopted an action point in which expressed serious concern regarding its current lack of new mandates.  The Committee encouraged those members who had presented research proposals to engage, as from the date of the Human Rights Council’s decision to confer a mandate on the Committee, in a preliminary drafting process in respect of the relevant mandates, together with other interested members of the Committee.

In an action point on human rights issues related to terrorist hostage-taking, the Advisory Committee requested the drafting group to finalise the final report and to submit it to the Human Rights Council at its twenty-fourth session.

During its tenth session, the Committee, a body of 18 independent experts serving as a think-tank to the United Nations Human Rights Council, worked on requests made by the Human Rights Council, including on human rights and issues related to hostage-taking. 
The draft final report on the topic prepared by its drafting group on human rights and issues related to terrorist hostage-taking (A/HRC/AC/10/2) was presented to the Advisory Committee by Mr. Wolfgang Stefan Heinz, President of the Advisory Committee, on behalf of the drafting group.

During the session, the Advisory Committee followed up on reports previously submitted to the Human Rights Council on the promotion of the right of peoples to peace, and the enhancement of international cooperation in the field of human rights; and discussed standing items on its agenda, namely, the integration of a gender perspective, the promotion of a democratic and equitable international order, and the integration of the perspective of persons with disabilities during its tenth session.

The Committee also discussed new priorities and research initiatives on topics such as access to justice and the fight against corruption; issues of local government and human rights; globalization, human rights and youth; human rights and humanitarian action; and a model law on equal opportunities and non-discrimination. It discussed a proposal for a study it could recommend to the Human Rights Council on human rights and humanitarian action; a proposal of a model law on equal opportunities and non-discrimination; and a proposal on citizens, safety and human rights.

At its closing meeting, members of the Advisory Committee considered a proposal to prepare a letter to be sent separately to the President of the Human Rights Council and the Regional Coordinators, reflecting concerns about the lack of new mandates, which were necessary to achieve the aims of the Council, the Committee and the international human rights system. 

The next session of the Human Rights Council Advisory Committee will take place from 12 to 16 August 2013.


Following is the list of members of the Advisory Committee and expiration dates for their respective terms of office: Mr. Saeed Mohamed Al Faihani (Bahrain – 2015); Mr. José Antonio Bengoa Cabello (Chile - 2013); Mr. Laurence Boisson de Chazournes (France – 2014); Chung Chinsung (Republic of Korea –a 2013); Mr. Mario L. Coriolano (Argentina . 2015); Mr. Wolfgang Stefan Heinz (Germany - 2013); Mr. Latif Hüseynov (Azerbaijan - 2014); Mr. Alfred Ntunduguru Karokora (Uganda – 2013); Mr. Vladimir Kartashkin (Russian Federation - 2013); Mr. Obiora Chinedu Okafor (Nigeria – 2014); Ms. Katharina Pabel (Austria – 2015); Ms. Coco Quisumbing (Philippines - 2014); Ms. Anantonia Reyes Prado (Guatemala – 2013); Mr. Shigeki Sakamoto (Japan - 2013); Mr. Dheerujlall Seetulsingh (Mauritius - 2014); Mr. Ahmer Bilal Soofi (Pakistan – 2014); Mr. Imeru Tamrat Yigezu (Ethiopia – 2015); and Ms. Mona Zulficar (Egypt - 2013).

For use of the information media; not an official record